LibGuides: SWOT: Resources

Resources

Many independent 3rd party organizations do SWOT analysis on companies of interest. Through the Acsenda library, students have access to several databases that contain SWOT analysis and articles.

Databases @ ASM

Statista
Statista is corporate statistical database and market forecasting tool. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Statista contains Company Information, Digital & Consumer Market Outlooks, Infographics, Presentations, Industry reports and more.
Statista deserves special mention for their comprehensive “business overview reports” they have these for only a few companies and industries, but they are an invaluable resource for anyone doing research on those organizations. These reports are a thorough overview of their topic organization, and many of them include a chapter with SWOT analysis.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database is Canada’s most comprehensive and diverse full-text online database. It is a good source for Canadian business publications; including trade and academic journals, general business and business related publications.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full- text journals, case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Business Source Complete includes MarketLine’s SWOT analyses library, which contains up to date SWOT analysis summaries for hundreds of companies. BSC allows for sorting by source types, one of which is “SWOT analyses” which will limit your search results to SWOT reports.

Key Search Terms

When trying to find SWOT analysis in any of the databases outlined above, it is important to use relevant search terms to try to get the best results possible. The content you are looking for may not always contain “SWOT” somewhere in the title. Some good terms to find SWOT resources are:

“SWOT” – When searching, the best starting point is often just searching for what you want. You can use this term with a company name or other modifications such as “Amazon SWOT analysis”
“Report” – this could be searched along with a company name, or you could add additional information to form a search string like “TikTok strategy report”
“Overview”
“Analysis”

SWOT analysis can also be known as TOWS or WOTS, so you can try searching for those as well.

SWOT

Resources

Databases @ ASM

Key Search Terms

Web Articles